Do you know what it’s like to be hungry?

Have you ever been really hungry…more than 30-60 minutes beyond your normal meal time? Have you ever not know where your next meal was coming from? My younger siblings and I knew all to well what it was like to hungry and to not know where our next meal was coming from. It was like do- or- die to get to school to at least get one meal for the day.

This is the time of year I especially think about the homeless or less fortunate. I try to always donate winter garments and shoes to local homeless shelter(s ). I would like to take this time to encourage you to do the same if you can.

Matt40 And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.

NKJV

Are you spiritually hungry?

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,

For they shall be filled.

Matthew 5:6

Do you ever just sit or kneel and cry out to God that you want to know Him more… to be filled to the full with the Holy Spirit … With wisdom and discernment…to be used by Him more.

If you want to live for God you must be ready to say and do what seems strange to the world. You must be willing o give when others take, to love when others hate, to help when others abuse. By giving up your own rights in order to serve others, you will one day receive everything God has in store for you.

Matthew 5:13 13 “You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its flavor, how shall it be seasoned? It is then good for nothing but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot by men.

NKJV

If a seasoning has no flavor, it has no value. If Christ follower make no effort to affect the world around them, they are of little value to God. If we are too much like the world, we are worthless. Christ followers should not blend in with everyone else. Instead, we should affect them positively, just as seasoning brings out the best flavor in food.

Are you salt and light to the world?

Humbly at His feet,

Peggy Cheek

Author: rnpeggy@yahoo.com

I am married with 2 adult children, and 4 beautiful grandchildren. I have been in nursing for 30 plus years. I grew up having a lot of emotional pain, shame, and doubt that I would ever have anything significant, or anyone who loved. God has taken that away for me, and is transforming me. I want to lead you to the healing God has instore for you as well.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started